top of page
Search
  • venues56

How much praise is too much praise?

Updated: Apr 27, 2021

When working in the events industry you do it for the love of the job nothing can compare to the feeling of when your backing down from a busy few days and your client comes and thanks you for all your hard work. It's a true feeling of job satisfaction that nothing can compare.


For me, having praise or positive feedback from a peer in your industry is always such a confidence boost and truly makes you feel like you are doing your job right. Now as a line manager, I think about the praise I am giving my staff, how does receiving it make them feel and is an email enough?

"We all talk about the need for great events, for that to happen those working in the industry need to feel great first!"

To answer my question I don’t think I am offering enough. Times are hard right now and people need to hear they're doing a good job even if it's for a small task - anything to boast morale and self-worth should be done. I have never asked my team how they feel receiving feedback and in which form do they prefer it. For my own knowledge maybe I should.



For me, I like to give feedback, both good and bad. People are too quick to get behind a keyboard and explain about their negative experience forgetting there is a person on the other side of it and how will it make them feel and view their job.


I think we should all strive to give ourselves, colleagues and peers more feedback. We talk about events being great but for that to happen, those working in the industry need to feel great first!


Rachel Cottiss, Conference & Events Manager, Venues at Northumbria

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page